Skip Navigation
Our Practices

Bankruptcy

Burns & Levinson's bankruptcy attorneys provide expertise for clients involved in all aspects of proceedings under any chapter of the U.S. Bankruptcy Code, as well as in state court and out-of-court proceedings involving credit relationships.

Our attorneys represent all types of creditors (secured and unsecured, financial and trade, individuals and committees), and indenture trustees, Chapter 11 trustees, bankruptcy trustees, asset and business acquirers, equity holders and debtors. They primarily appear in Chapter 11 reorganizations, but also frequently are involved in Chapter 7 and Chapter 13 cases, as well as adversary proceedings of all types, bankruptcy appeals, and litigation related to bankruptcy cases.

We have appeared in reorganizations in a wide variety of industries throughout Massachusetts and the other New England states, and have had particularly significant exposure in the healthcare and high-technology industries. The Bankruptcy Code is a federal statute applicable throughout the United States, and our attorneys have experience in many other states as well. They can be of assistance in any bankruptcy case, regardless of the jurisdiction in which it is pending. Burns & Levinson's bankruptcy attorneys also have extensive experience in workouts, assignments for the benefit of creditors, receiverships, and general commercial litigation.

Burns & Levinson represents both creditors and debtors, primarily in business bankruptcy cases, but also in individual cases, especially complex ones and in pro bono cases. We are therefore required to advise potential clients in accordance with the recently effective new section 528 of the Bankruptcy Code (11 U.S.C. sec. 528) that we are considered to be a "debt relief agency", as we sometimes "help people file for bankruptcy relief under the Bankruptcy Code."

The Bankruptcy Group at Burns & Levinson

Name Title Phone Email
Cornelius (Con) J. Chapman Partner 617.345.3838 cchapman@burnslev.com
John F. Drew Partner 617.345.3292 jdrew@burnslev.com
Leonard M. Gold Partner 617.345.3831 lgold@burnslev.com
Lawrence G. Green Partner 617.345.3216 lgreen@burnslev.com
William V. Sopp Partner 617.345.3829 wsopp@burnslev.com
Tal M. Unrad Associate 617.345.3857 tunrad@burnslev.com