Skip Navigation
Our Practices

Canada Practice

The attorneys of Burns & Levinson’s Canada Practice Group have been representing clients from Canada for many years and offer seamless cross-border legal expertise through the services of its subsidiary, Burns & Levinson Canada Co., which is located in Montreal, Quebec. Together we work with Canadian companies in all provinces and territories from Newfoundland to British Columbia as well as with U.S. companies looking to do business in these regions. Our network of regional, national and international venture capital funds and financial institutions provides companies with access to potential funding sources. We also provide Canadian companies with introductions to these investors on an ongoing basis as well as through our Burns & Levinson U.S./Canada Venture Capital Pipeline events. We have assisted Canadian clients in all U.S. matters including the following:

• Structuring financing from U.S. investors including the use of exchangeable shares

• Providing tax advice on cross-border transactions

• Structuring cross-border mergers and acquisitions

• Introducing strategic partners and the drafting of joint ventures

• Formulating a cross-border fund to invest in micro-cap companies

• SEC compliance

• Drafting and review of contracts

• Advising on U.S. corporate law, including review of corporate governance documentation

• EPA registration

• Immigration

• Advising on Intellectual Property, Licensing and Trademarks

• Litigation

• Collection

• Bankruptcy

• Regulatory compliance

• Government relations both U.S. and Canada

The attorneys of Burns & Levinson, through its subsidiary, Burns & Levinson Canada Co., and our network of Canadian attorneys and accountants, can identify issues and solutions unique to cross-border transactions. We can assist our clients with expansion into Canada, including access to capital and contacts with appropriate public and private entities.

Related Client Features

Simpler Networks

The Canada Practice Group at Burns & Levinson

Name Title Phone Email
Leonard M. Gold, Chair Partner 617.345.3831 lgold@burnslev.com
Stephen D. Brook Partner 617.345.3722 sbrook@burnslev.com
Laura L. Carroll Partner 617.345.3339 lcarroll@burnslev.com
Jerry Cohen Partner 617.345.3276 jcohen@burnslev.com
David W. Gomes Of Counsel 617.345.3267 dgomes@burnslev.com
Mark W. Manning Partner 617.345.3468 mmanning@burnslev.com
Samuel M. Shafner Partner 617.345.3222 sshafner@burnslev.com
Janine M. Susan Associate 617.345.3275 jsusan@burnslev.com
Tal M. Unrad Associate 617.345.3857 tunrad@burnslev.com
Josef B. Volman Partner 617.345.3895 jvolman@burnslev.com