Skip Navigation
Our Practices

Finance

Burns & Levinson's finance attorneys provide expertise in both the origination of loan documentation and the handling of all aspects of workout, reorganization, debt restructuring, enforcement of loan documentation, and bankruptcy matters.

Our attorneys represent either the lender or the borrower in loan transactions on a local, national, and regional basis. We assist in structuring, negotiating, and documenting all aspects of the commercial loan. These include asset-based and nonfollowed secured lending, all forms of real estate financing, including securitized lending transactions, lines of credit, unsecured loans, portfolio loans, syndicated facilities, and loan participations. While we are experienced in transactions of all sizes, our work is concentrated in the range of $1 million to $200 million.

Since we have extensive experience in representing lenders and borrowers, the firm's finance attorneys have developed a unique understanding of the business perspectives of a loan transaction. This enables our attorneys to devote negotiations to the issues of significance, enhancing efficiency and reducing expenses.

Burns & Levinson has a very active practice in negotiating workout and reorganization agreements, handling direct enforcement and collection matters, representing creditors, official committees, debtors, trustees and other parties in bankruptcy proceedings, and counseling clients in nonbankruptcy alternatives. Our litigators have a wealth of experience in bankruptcy, workout, and general commercial litigation. Therefore, we have the appropriate resources to employ in particularly complex and difficult situations.

Burns & Levinson is also included in the Bond Buyer’s Municipal Marketplace as nationally recognized bond counsel, and has served as counsel to a variety of parties in tax-exempt bond transaction in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and other New England states. We can accordingly serve simultaneously as bond and borrower’s counsel in issues, creating efficiencies for clients.

The Finance Group at Burns & Levinson

Name Title Phone Email
Frank A. Segall, Co-Chairman Partner 617.345.3684 fsegall@burnslev.com
Norman C. Spector, Co-Chairman Partner 617.345.3677 nspector@burnslev.com
Raymond E. Baxter Partner 617.345.3818 rbaxter@burnslev.com
Cornelius (Con) J. Chapman Partner 617.345.3838 cchapman@burnslev.com
Richard M. Coen Partner 401.831.3010 rcoen@burnslev.com
John F. Drew Partner 617.345.3292 jdrew@burnslev.com
Leonard M. Gold Partner 617.345.3831 lgold@burnslev.com
Alison R. Harrall Associate 617.345.3816 aharrall@burnslev.com
Andy Henderson, Jr. Associate 617.345.3858 ahenderson@burnslev.com
Scott H. Moskol Partner 617.345.3522 smoskol@burnslev.com
Leslie B. Muldowney Partner 617.345.3247 lmuldowney@burnslev.com
Christina M. Murray Partner 617.345.3440 cmurray@burnslev.com
Francis E. Perkins, Jr. Partner 617.345.3000 fperkins@burnslev.com
Chad J. Porter Partner 617.345.3686 cporter@burnslev.com
William V. Sopp Partner 617.345.3829 wsopp@burnslev.com
Tal M. Unrad Associate 617.345.3857 tunrad@burnslev.com