Skip Navigation
Our Practices

International Practice

Burns & Levinson daily helps clients do business around the world. We work with clients across borders and cultures to develop business strategies, negotiate and facilitate new tax-efficient operating and holding entities, joint ventures, mergers, acquisitions, sales, contracts, distributorships, licenses, technology transfers, project development and a broad variety of other business and commercial transactions and agreements. In this context we structure, negotiate and secure financing, protect intellectual property, conduct and manage due diligence, assert and defend legal rights, advise on employment issues, secure business visas, and engage in dispute resolution.

Burns & Levinson’s International Practice Group is able to provide these services to clients because of the skills and experience of its multi-disciplinary group of members. They are drawn from our Corporate, Tax, Intellectual Property, Science & Technology, Real Estate, Trusts & Estates, Labor and Employment and Private Client groups, as well as from the skills and experience of our more specialized international practitioners. In addition, as long-time active members of two international networks, Integrated Advisory Group (IAG) International, with over 75 firms in over 40 overseas jurisdictions around the globe and the Law Firm Alliance, with over 40 firms domestically and 8 internationally, we are able to employ our extensive network of business and professional contacts to extend our firm’s reach for the proven benefit of our clients. Membership in these networks also enables Burns & Levinson to provide nationwide services throughout the United States to our overseas clients.

Within our International Practice Group a number of our attorneys have developed specialized practices relating to the following regions and countries. These practices are facilitating both outbound transactions between U.S. clients and countries overseas, and inbound transactions by overseas entities and Non-U.S. citizens seeking to do business in the United States.

Specialized Practice Groups:

Canada Practice

China Practice

Europe Practice

Israel Practice

The International Practice Group at Burns & Levinson

Name Title Phone Email
Gil Breiman, Co-Chair Partner 617.345.3627 gbreiman@burnslev.com
Samuel M. Shafner, Co-Chair Partner 617.345.3222 sshafner@burnslev.com
David M. Amidon Partner 617.345.3578 damidon@burnslev.com
Stephen D. Brook Partner 617.345.3722 sbrook@burnslev.com
Laura L. Carroll Partner 617.345.3339 lcarroll@burnslev.com
Jerry Cohen Partner 617.345.3276 jcohen@burnslev.com
Fraser Collin Partner 617.345.3791 fcollin@burnslev.com
Roy W. Gillig Partner 617.345.3206 rgillig@burnslev.com
Leonard M. Gold Partner 617.345.3831 lgold@burnslev.com
Evelyn A. Haralampu Partner 617.345.3351 eharalampu@burnslev.com
Renee Inomata Partner 617.345.3340 rinomata@burnslev.com
Orlando Lopez Partner 617.345.3243 olopez@burnslev.com
Mark W. Manning Partner 617.345.3468 mmanning@burnslev.com
Howard D. Medwed Partner 617.345.3352 hmedwed@burnslev.com
Harry S. Miller Partner 617.345.3236 hmiller@burnslev.com
Francis E. Perkins, Jr. Partner 617.345.3000 fperkins@burnslev.com
Mark Schonfeld Partner 617.345.3329 mschonfeld@burnslev.com
Howard J. Susser Partner 617.345.3738 hsusser@burnslev.com
Josef B. Volman Partner 617.345.3895 jvolman@burnslev.com