Skip Navigation
Our Practices

Schools & Colleges

Burns & Levinson has been successfully representing schools, colleges, universities, and other educational institutions for over 40 years. By combining the legal expertise and industry knowledge available across our full-range of service areas, Burns & Levinson attorneys have the resources to assist educational institutions, and other organizations working in the education industry, in navigating through a continually-changing and complex legal and regulatory landscape. Whether related to intellectual property protection of ground-breaking scientific discoveries or the development of world-class performing arts centers or research facilities, Burns & Levinson has the depth and breadth of legal expertise to provide sound legal counsel.

Our diverse range of clients includes many of the leading liberal arts colleges and research universities throughout New England and the nation as well as primary and secondary private and public schools. Our attorneys work directly with general counsel, senior management, trustee boards, and administrators to provide pragmatic legal advice and effective representation in a wide variety of matters, including education law and compliance, governance and organizational issues, tax, intellectual property, capital project development, real estate, finance, student affairs matters, employment law, and litigation. Burns & Levinson attorneys also have significant experience advising public charter schools on a broad range of legal and regulatory matters from school formation through governance and operational issues.

In addition to representing educational institutions, many of our attorneys also hold board positions with schools, colleges, and other educational organizations. Our attorneys are active and engaged leaders serving as trustees, public school committee members, leaders in alumni organizations, and in other similar capacities.

A partial list of services that Burns & Levinson provides to educational industry clients appears below. To find out more about how Burns & Levinson attorneys can work with your school or organization, please contact one of our co-chairs of the practice listed below.

Education Law & Compliance

• Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act

• No Child Left Behind Act

• Individuals with Disabilities Education Act

• Student Right to Know and Campus Security Act

• Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act compliance

• ADA, Section 504, and state disability law compliance

• Digital Millennium Copyright Act

Governance & Organizational Issues

• Development and amendment of corporate articles and by-laws

• Development and amendment of conflict of interest policies for trustees, officers, and senior management

• Electronic communications and record-keeping

• Advice regarding general governance and organizational matters

• Advice regarding trustee liability, insurance, and indemnification

• Public procurement of supplies and services

• Taxation

Intellectual Property

• Provisional and patent application filings and prosecution (U.S. and foreign)

• Trademark and copyright issues

• Government contract, licensing, and other technology transfer arrangements

• Distance education

• Intellectual property litigation

Capital Projects & Facilities

• Site acquisition and permitting for new capital facility projects

• Design and construction contracting strategy and advice

• Environmental permitting and compliance

• Project finance and procurement strategy and advice

• Leasing

• Public school construction and procurement

Institutional Financing

• Capital financing strategy and advice

• Taxable and tax-exempt bond financing transactions

• Public school financing

• Formation and administration of charitable and planned giving programs

Student Affairs

• Development and amendment of student handbook and other policies

• Advice on compliance with special education laws, disciplinary proceedings, and “due process” issues

• Representation in litigation arising from student mental health issues, discrimination and civil rights cases, crimes on campus, and student disciplinary proceedings

Labor & Employment

• Compliance with state and federal employment, discrimination, and wage and hour laws

• Tenure disputes

• Drafting and reviewing employee and faculty handbooks and policies

• Sexual harassment and discrimination matters

Employee Benefits

• Tax-qualified benefit, defined contribution and cash balance plans

• Design and implementation of retirement and deferred compensation plans for faculty, staff, and executives, including 403(b), 401(a), and 457 plans

• Non-qualified deferred compensation arrangements

• Section 125 cafeteria plans

• Tuition assistance and rebate programs and children’s scholarship plans

• Employee housing

Litigation

• Intellectual property disputes

• Disability and discrimination claims

• Employment benefit and contract disputes, wrongful termination claims, and sexual harassment

• Construction-related disputes, ADR, and litigation

• Advice on risk management and avoidance strategies

Related News from the Schools & Colleges Group

The Schools & Colleges Group at Burns & Levinson

Name Title Phone Email
Cornelius (Con) J. Chapman, Co-Chair Partner 617.345.3838 cchapman@burnslev.com
Normand F. Smith, Co-Chair Partner 617.345.3234 nsmith@burnslev.com
Raymond E. Baxter Partner 617.345.3818 rbaxter@burnslev.com
Alexandra Capachietti Associate 617.345.3421 acapachietti@burnslev.com
Anatoly M. Darov Partner 617.345.3820 adarov@burnslev.com
Jacob (Jesse) N. Erlich Partner 617.345.3255 jerlich@burnslev.com
Frances Allou Gershwin Partner 617.345.3724 fgershwin@burnslev.com
Jennifer B. Green Associate 617.345.3324 jgreen@burnslev.com
Evelyn A. Haralampu Partner 617.345.3351 eharalampu@burnslev.com
Alison R. Harrall Associate 617.345.3816 aharrall@burnslev.com
Andy Henderson, Jr. Associate 617.345.3858 ahenderson@burnslev.com
Renee Inomata Partner 617.345.3340 rinomata@burnslev.com
Michael D. MacClary Partner 617.345.3305 mmacclary@burnslev.com
Francis E. Perkins, Jr. Partner 617.345.3000 fperkins@burnslev.com
Mark Schonfeld Partner 617.345.3329 mschonfeld@burnslev.com
Frank A. Segall Partner 617.345.3684 fsegall@burnslev.com
Norman C. Spector Partner 617.345.3677 nspector@burnslev.com
Paul E. Stanzler Senior Counsel 617.345.3274 pstanzler@burnslev.com
Tal M. Unrad Associate 617.345.3857 tunrad@burnslev.com