Skip Navigation
Our Practices

Securities Law

Public Companies:

Burns & Levinson's attorneys have extensive experience representing public and private issuers, stockholder groups and individual investors. Our attorney team counsels clients on IPOs and follow-on offerings of equity, debt and other securities (including shelf registration takedowns), corporate acquisitions involving registered and restricted stock, mergers and acquisitions where one or both parties are publicly traded, private investment in public equity (PIPE) transactions, equity line of credit financings; private placements, venture capital financings, and complex securities law transactions and issues, including corporate governance/Sarbanes-Oxley and SEC and stock exchange reporting and compliance.

In the securities compliance area, we advise our clients on corporate governance/Sarbanes-Oxley and SEC and stock exchange reporting and compliance. Specifically, we assist our clients in fulfilling their ongoing SEC and stock exchange reporting obligations, managing sensitive disclosure issues internally and with industry analysts, preparing proxy statements and handling stockholder meetings; structuring employee benefit plans and executive compensation packages under the SEC's "short-swing profit" reporting and liability rules, effecting re-sales of securities in the public trading markets under the SEC's Rule 144, and advising boards of directors and board committees concerning the requirements and restrictions imposed on their actions by the securities laws and corporate governance laws such as Sarbanes-Oxley. We have served as special securities counsel to the Boards and Audit Committees of publicly traded companies looking for opinions or advice of counsel other than their regular outside counsel.

We have counseled clients both domestic and international, from high technology and life sciences to emerging growth companies, and are positioned to provide clients with timely, expert, efficient and cost effective advice that they need to meet their business objectives. We take a practical and proactive approach to the rapidly changing securities disclosure and corporate governance laws, providing our clients with timely updates, identifying specific situations in which the new laws will impact particular clients either operationally or structurally, and working with clients to implement the changes that are either required or advisable to comply with the new regulatory schemes and investor sentiment.

Underwriters and Investment Banks:

Our attorneys have represented underwriters in initial and follow-on public offerings and investment banks in private placements.

Investment Advisors/Broker-Dealers:

We represent investment advisory and broker-dealer clients in all matters, ranging from their organization, financing, licensing/registration under federal and/or state laws, operations, compliance, and acquisitions and divestitures. In addition to those activities relevant to investment advisors/broker-dealers described above under "Investment Companies," our expertise includes thorough familiarity with the Securities Act of 1933, the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Investment Advisers Act of 1940, ERISA, USA PATRIOT Act, and Sarbanes-Oxley.

The Securities Law Group at Burns & Levinson

Name Title Phone Email
Andrew J. Merken, Co-Chair Partner 617.345.3740 amerken@burnslev.com
Josef B. Volman, Co-Chair Partner 617.345.3895 jvolman@burnslev.com
David Amidon Partner 617.345.3578 damidon@burnslev.com
Raymond E. Baxter Partner 617.345.3818 rbaxter@burnslev.com
Gil Breiman Partner 617.345.3627 gbreiman@burnslev.com
Stephen D. Brook Partner 617.345.3722 sbrook@burnslev.com
Fraser Collin Partner 617.345.3791 fcollin@burnslev.com
Robert D. Friedman Partner 617.345.3248 rfriedman@burnslev.com
Robert D. Giacchetti Associate 617.345.3645 rgiacchetti@burnslev.com
Alison R. Harrall Associate 617.345.3816 aharrall@burnslev.com
Jonathan P. Levi Partner 617.345.3550 jlevi@burnslev.com
Harry S. Miller Partner 617.345.3236 hmiller@burnslev.com
Chad J. Porter Partner 617.345.3686 cporter@burnslev.com
Samuel M. Shafner Partner 617.345.3222 sshafner@burnslev.com
Tal M. Unrad Associate 617.345.3857 tunrad@burnslev.com