Skip Navigation
Our Practices

Tax Controversy

No one needs to handle a tax dispute alone. Whether you receive a notice letter, or you are undergoing an audit, appealing an audit, seeking to litigate a tax dispute, having tax payment issues, planning to voluntarily come forward and file prior year tax returns, or facing any other type of tax controversy issue, the tax attorneys at Burns & Levinson can assist at any time in the process. We evaluate your individual circumstances and discuss the available options. We work with our clients to develop a strategic plan tailored to their situation and aimed at resolving their specific tax controversy.

As experienced tax attorneys, we possess the technical knowledge and expertise needed to effectively advocate your position. We provide assistance in every area of tax law, including income tax, employment tax, sales or use tax, excise tax, and taxation related to estates and trusts, retirement plans and deferred compensation arrangements.

Comprehensive Services

We are a full service provider and not only defend our clients once they are involved in a tax controversy but we also advise clients on planning future transactions to minimize tax disputes.

The Tax Controversy Group at Burns & Levinson

Name Title Phone Email
Howard D. Medwed, Co-Chair Partner 617.345.3352 hmedwed@burnslev.com
Harry S. Miller, Co-Chair Partner 617.345.3236 hmiller@burnslev.com
Roy W. Gillig Partner 617.345.3206 rgillig@burnslev.com
Jennifer B. Green Associate 617.345.3324 jgreen@burnslev.com
Evelyn A. Haralampu Partner 617.345.3351 eharalampu@burnslev.com
Philip S. Olsen Partner 617.345.3213 polsen@burnslev.com