Skip Navigation
Our Practices

Venture Capital & Private Equity

Burns & Levinson’s approach allows our attorneys to offer clients a full understanding of the issues and concerns on both sides of a financing transaction, and positions us to cultivate business relationships between our venture capital and private equity clients and the emerging growth and start-up companies that we represent. Our clients engage in complex transactions that require an innovative but sensible method to solving legal and business issues. We have the advantage of cross-practice collaboration and draw upon our knowledge for each situation using a wide range of practice areas, including corporate, finance, securities, tax, intellectual property and labor, employment and employee benefits. We work continuously to extend the reach of our practices through innovation to provide our clients with access to cutting-edge solutions and strategies.

Our attorneys have extensive experience representing both venture capital firms and venture-backed companies in a variety of industries such as technology, life sciences, medical devices, software, sports, energy, cleantech, internet, media and entertainment, telecom and healthcare. In addition to this, we have a strong presence regionally, nationally, and internationally in countries such as Canada, China, Europe and Israel, which provides us the resources to complete cross-border transactions with skill and efficiency.

We understand the venture capital process and offer clients strategies for negotiating and structuring venture investments. We believe that a close understanding of the economic and business realities of each deal is critical to efficient deal management and effective representation.

After assisting a venture capital or private equity client with its investments, we continue to add value by supporting and advising the fund in its ongoing relationships with its portfolio companies in a number of ways. We stay abreast of the evolving standards by which clients evaluate investments and the market terms of venture investments. We understand the balance between obtaining appropriate terms and cultivating quality, long-term relationships between venture capital investors and the emerging growth companies in which they invest. We strive to maintain this balance while helping our venture capital investors and emerging growth companies with successfully completing their financing transactions.

Burns & Levinson is a member of Capital Innovation (an organization linking US and Canadian Venture Capital Funds, Angels and Corporate Strategic Investors), and sponsors both The Venture Forum and the New England Venture Summit.

Services we provide for our Venture Capital & Private Equity clients:

  • Acquisition/disposition
  • Brokering inter-founder relationships
  • Business plan review
  • Copyright registration
  • Corporate finance
  • Corporate governance
  • Debtor-in-possession financing
  • Dispute resolution/litigation
  • Employee benefit plans
  • Equipment leasing
  • Equity financing
  • Equity incentive plans
  • Exchange fund
  • Executive employment agreements/incentive arrangements
  • Financial sponsor
  • Formation/choice of legal form
  • Founder exits from existing employers
  • Fund formation
  • Growth capital
  • High yield bond financing
  • Intellectual property
  • Leveraged buyout
  • Licensing and distribution agreements
  • Management buyout
  • Management compensation
  • Mergers & acquisitions
  • Mezzanine capital
  • Mezzanine financings
  • Minority investments
  • Partnering and joint venturing agreements
  • Patent procurement
  • Portfolio company transactions
  • Preferred stock transactions
  • Private equity fund
  • Private equity secondary market
  • Private investment in public equity
  • Public company planning/best practices
  • Public equity and debt offerings
  • Real estate acquisition/leasing
  • Recapitalizations
  • Receivables factoring
  • Rollups
  • SEC compliance
  • Securities offerings
  • Seed capital financings
  • Seller financing
  • Senior financing
  • Subordinated and structured financings
  • Taxation of private equity and hedge funds
  • Venture capital financings

Check out our Corporate Practice for more information.

The Venture Capital & Private Equity Group at Burns & Levinson

Name Title Phone Email
Frank A. Segall, Co-Chairman Partner 617.345.3684 fsegall@burnslev.com
Josef B. Volman, Co-Chairman Partner 617.345.3895 jvolman@burnslev.com
Raymond E. Baxter Partner 617.345.3818 rbaxter@burnslev.com
Gil Breiman Partner 617.345.3627 gbreiman@burnslev.com
Stephen D. Brook Partner 617.345.3722 sbrook@burnslev.com
Cornelius (Con) J. Chapman Partner 617.345.3838 cchapman@burnslev.com
Fraser Collin Partner 617.345.3791 fcollin@burnslev.com
Roy W. Gillig Partner 617.345.3206 rgillig@burnslev.com
Alison R. Harrall Associate 617.345.3816 aharrall@burnslev.com
Andy Henderson, Jr. Associate 617.345.3858 ahenderson@burnslev.com
Jonathan P. Levi Partner 617.345.3550 jlevi@burnslev.com
Mark W. Manning Partner 617.345.3468 mmanning@burnslev.com
Andrew J. Merken Partner 617.345.3740 amerken@burnslev.com
Chad J. Porter Partner 617.345.3686 cporter@burnslev.com
Robert C. Rives Partner 617.345.3344 rrives@burnslev.com
Samuel M. Shafner Partner 617.345.3222 sshafner@burnslev.com
William V. Sopp Partner 617.345.3829 wsopp@burnslev.com
George N. Tobia, Jr. Partner 617.345.3659 gtobia@burnslev.com
Tal M. Unrad Associate 617.345.3857 tunrad@burnslev.com