Skip Navigation
Our Practices

Business Litigation

Burns & Levinson's business litigation attorneys create opportunities and solve problems for our clients by aggressive negotiation, mediation, and the effective use of litigation. Our business litigation attorneys bring years of experience and proven success in representing clients having diverse business interests.

We both initiate and defend a broad range of business litigation actions, always with the same guiding principle: to achieve optimal results for our clients quickly and cost effectively. In addition to our substantial experience in the courtroom, our attorneys frequently help clients resolve their disputes in mediations and other forms of alternative dispute resolution.

Many of our attorneys have established expertise in particular areas such as antitrust, banking, directors' and officers' liability, eminent domain, governmental entities, intellectual property, class actions, labor and employment law, minority stockholders, franchises, securities, real estate tax abatement, federal and state tax litigation, unfair and deceptive trade practices under Chapter 93A of the Massachusetts General Laws, and white collar criminal defense.

Intellectual property rights are an important asset to businesses as new technologies increasingly create unique challenges in this area. Our Intellectual Property Group has developed a substantial practice, representing clients in patent litigation, security and protecting patents, trademarks, copyrights, and trade secrets.

We represent clients in a variety of employment matters, including defense and prosecution of wrongful termination and discrimination claims, and litigation involving trade secrets and covenants not to compete. We also advise our business clients on means of avoiding or minimizing exposure to these types of claims through the establishment of internal corporate policies and written employment agreements.

In the area of banking litigation, we have successfully represented lenders in loan workout litigation, including actions to collect debts and to take possession of real estate and other collateral. We also represent lenders in defending lender liability claims.

The White Collar Criminal Defense Group represents clients involved in federal and state criminal proceedings, including grand jury and administrative agency investigations. We represent corporate targets in federal investigations, including antitrust, bank fraud, healthcare fraud, and environmental prosecution.

Related Client Features

Alan Gray, Inc.

Different Tastes

Holland-Mark

Indevus

Reebok International, Ltd.

The Business Litigation Group at Burns & Levinson

Name Title Phone Email
Shepard Davidson, Co-Chair Partner 617.345.3336 sdavidson@burnslev.com
Robert D. Friedman, Co-Chair Partner 617.345.3248 rfriedman@burnslev.com
Christopher L. Ayers Associate 401.831.8336 cayers@burnslev.com
Benjamin C. Caldwell Associate 401.330.1751 bcaldwell@burnslev.com
Alexandra Capachietti Associate 617.345.3421 acapachietti@burnslev.com
Laura L. Carroll Partner 617.345.3339 lcarroll@burnslev.com
Stephen Y. Chow Partner 617.345.3263 schow@burnslev.com
Jerry Cohen Partner 617.345.3276 jcohen@burnslev.com
Robert Clark Corrente Partner 401.519.6257 rcorrente@burnslev.com
Lisa M. Cukier Partner 617.345.3471 lcukier@burnslev.com
Alexandra H. Deal Associate 617.345.3227 adeal@burnslev.com
Zachary R. Gates Associate 617.345.3535 zgates@burnslev.com
Lawrence G. Green Partner 617.345.3216 lgreen@burnslev.com
Paul Marshall Harris Partner 617.345.3854 pharris@burnslev.com
Renee Inomata Partner 617.345.3340 rinomata@burnslev.com
Sara Decatur Judge Partner 617.345.3211 sjudge@burnslev.com
Dennis J. Kelly Partner 617.345.3436 dkelly@burnslev.com
Alan E. Lipkind Partner 617.345.3547 alipkind@burnslev.com
David M. Losier Partner 617.345.3644 dlosier@burnslev.com
Andrea L. Martin Associate 617.345.3869 amartin@burnslev.com
Jeffrey R. Martin General Counsel 617.345.3308 jmartin@burnslev.com
Erica Mastrangelo Associate 617.345.3683 emastrangelo@burnslev.com
Paul R. Mastrocola Partner 617.345.3244 pmastrocola@burnslev.com
Harry S. Miller Partner 617.345.3236 hmiller@burnslev.com
Elizabeth Brady Murillo Associate 617.345.3230 emurillo@burnslev.com
Lawrence P. Murray Partner 617.345.3510 lmurray@burnslev.com
Emily J. Nelson Associate 617.345.3205 enelson@burnslev.com
Lynn C. Norton Associate 617.345.3552 lnorton@burnslev.com
Robert J. O'Regan Partner 617.345.3650 roregan@burnslev.com
Richard G. Pichette Partner 617.345.3226 rpichette@burnslev.com
Thomas T. Reith Partner 617.345.3258 treith@burnslev.com
Paul M. Sanford Partner 401.831.5309 psanford@burnslev.com
Mark Schonfeld Partner 617.345.3329 mschonfeld@burnslev.com
Neerja Sharma Associate 617.345.3204 nsharma@burnslev.com
Normand F. Smith Partner 617.345.3234 nsmith@burnslev.com
Paul E. Stanzler Senior Counsel 617.345.3274 pstanzler@burnslev.com
Susan E. Stenger Partner 617.345.3739 sstenger@burnslev.com
Laura R. Studen Partner 617.345.3325 lstuden@burnslev.com
Howard J. Susser Partner 617.345.3738 hsusser@burnslev.com
Merton E. Thompson Partner 617.345.3697 mthompson@burnslev.com
Ellen J. Zucker Partner 617.345.3367 ezucker@burnslev.com