Skip Navigation
Our Practices

Real Estate

Burns & Levinson's real estate attorneys represent developers, investors, lenders, owner/occupants, and tenants of real estate, throughout New England and the country, in all aspects of real estate law.

Our developer and investor clients are involved in projects such as office buildings, industrial parks, manufacturing sites, research and development space, shopping malls, retail store sites, commercial and residential condominiums, and apartment buildings. They engage our services for our expert implementation of real estate transactions.

Our real estate attorneys provide a full spectrum of services, from zoning, permitting, and acquisition through financing, construction, leasing, and disposition. We successfully and inventively implement solutions to complex real estate situations.

Our attorneys have broad expertise in real estate lending and finance, from basic to the most complex and sophisticated loans and financing transactions. We represent clients in all types of construction and permanent mortgage loans, including mezzanine financing transactions. We often represent clients in the acquisition and sale of existing loan portfolios that are secured by multiple real estate projects.

Our attorneys advise clients on the structuring of real estate transactions for estate and family planning purposes, to maximize tax benefits, and for other business purposes, including the selection of appropriate ownership entities. We create the appropriate entities, whether joint venture, limited partnership, trust, or other form, and implement the appropriate structure. We also advise clients on issues involved in severing their interests in these entities.

Many of our clients are owners or tenants who use real estate in their business operations. We provide all the legal services they need to lease, acquire, develop, finance, and sell commercial and industrial real estate.

Our lender and financial investor clients are regional and national financial institutions, commercial mortgage companies, investment banking firms, and private investors who are involved in a wide variety of real estate transactions. These transactions include multiproperty and multistate financings, tax-exempt financings, equity investments, and syndications.

Through our real estate tax abatement practice, we are able to reduce clients' tax burden to the lowest possible level. We challenge assessed values and negotiate with re-evaluation companies or local boards of assessors. When we cannot negotiate an acceptable assessment at the local level, we pursue appeals at the Appellate Tax Board, the Massachusetts Appeals Court, and the Supreme Judicial Court of Massachusetts. We advise clients whose businesses involve large tracts of land as to the potential real estate tax savings, and pitfalls, under various available exemptions and property classifications. We also help charities obtain tax-exempt status for their real estate.

Related Client Features

South Shore Hearing Center

Rockport Music (Podcast)

Radius

The Real Estate Group at Burns & Levinson

Name Title Phone Email
Frances Allou Gershwin, Co-Chair Partner 617.345.3724 fgershwin@burnslev.com
Donald E. Vaughan, Co-Chair Partner 617.345.3237 dvaughan@burnslev.com
Richard M. Coen Partner 401.831.3010 rcoen@burnslev.com
Sean O. Coffey Partner 401.831.8173 scoffey@burnslev.com
Anatoly M. Darov Partner 617.345.3820 adarov@burnslev.com
John F. Drew Partner 617.345.3292 jdrew@burnslev.com
Timothy J. Famulare Associate 617.345.3338 tfamulare@burnslev.com
Matthew G. Feher Associate 617.345.3307 mfeher@burnslev.com
Alan E. Lipkind Partner 617.345.3547 alipkind@burnslev.com
Michael D. MacClary Partner 617.345.3305 mmacclary@burnslev.com
Leslie B. Muldowney Partner 617.345.3247 lmuldowney@burnslev.com
Christina M. Murray Partner 617.345.3440 cmurray@burnslev.com
Francis E. Perkins, Jr. Partner 617.345.3000 fperkins@burnslev.com
Chad J. Porter Partner 617.345.3686 cporter@burnslev.com
David P. Rosenblatt Managing Partner 617.345.3330 drosenblatt@burnslev.com