Skip Navigation
Our Practices

Corporate

Burns & Levinson was founded on the principles of being accessible to our clients, being responsive to their needs and providing the highest quality legal services in an efficient and cost-effective way. These principles have served our clients well, as the Firm has become one of the premier business law firms in New England.

Burns & Levinson's corporate attorneys build relationships with their clients -- public companies, closely held private businesses, family-owned enterprises, entrepreneurial start-ups, middle market companies and individuals -- by counseling them in all aspects of sophisticated corporate and business law. Our clients include local, national, and international corporations in a wide variety of industries from emerging businesses to established commercial entities.

We build relationships for our clients -- using our network to expand their business opportunities. Our Corporate attorneys pride themselves in understanding their clients' businesses and industries. We advise and assist our clients in meeting their goals and objectives in an ever-changing business environment.

Corporate Counsel

Burns & Levinson attorneys provide on-going corporate legal services and counsel to our clients. We assist them in the formation and organization process, governance, business finance, strategic planning, the structure, terms and negotiation of various contracts, management and ownership succession, and a wide variety of other legal issues that arise in the course of conducting a business and planning for its future.

Mergers & Acquisitions

We regularly represent clients, either as buyers or sellers, in mergers, acquisitions, leveraged buyouts, divestitures, liquidations, and reorganization transactions. Our attorneys participate in all aspects of these transactions including structuring, financing, regulatory compliance and implementation. The firm also advises clients on issues arising in mergers and acquisitions involving securities laws, tender offers, hostile takeovers, Section 13(d) reports, and securities law compliance generally.

Securities Law

Our corporate attorneys counsel clients, including issuers, investors, and underwriters in all aspects of both public and private equity and debt financing. We are experienced in federal and state securities laws. Burns & Levinson regularly counsels clients on private placements, initial and secondary public offerings under the 1933 Securities Act, exchange listings (including dual listings and American Depository Receipts), 1934 Act proxy and reporting requirements, and investment company and investment advisor matters under the 1940 Acts. We also represent broker/dealers in registering with the National Association of Security Dealers and the states, addressing broker/dealer employment issues, customer arbitrations and other matters.

Venture Capital & Private Equity

Our corporate and securities attorneys represent regional, national, international venture capital funds, high net worth individuals and Angel groups in their investments in a variety of industries. We provide advice in structuring and organizing funds, due diligence assistance, and formulation of appropriate terms and conditions of investments.

Start-ups & Emerging Growth Companies

As counsel to numerous start-up and emerging growth companies, we provide business and legal advice to companies from start to finish -- from initial structuring and formation, financing, structuring strategic relationships, and protecting intellectual property, to formulating and achieving a successful exit strategy. In addition, as a result of our reputation in the venture capital community, clients are able to avail themselves of our vast network of financing sources. Our start-up and emerging growth clients appreciate the "value-added" and "client-centered" approach provided by partner level attention, which is critical to the success of the venture. As your company grows, we work as a member of your team to provide optimal results quickly and cost effectively.

Finance

Burns & Levinson provides corporate clients with expertise in virtually all types of financing transactions. These include secured and unsecured lines of credit, mezzanine and subordinate loans, and tax exempt financing. Since we have experience in representing lenders as well as borrowers, our attorneys have developed a unique understanding of the business perspectives of loan transactions. This enables us to devote negotiations to the issues of significance, enhancing efficiency and reducing expenses.

Related Practice Groups

We utilize our interdisciplinary areas of practice such as bankruptcy, tax, business litigation, employment law, ERISA, intellectual property, technology, environmental, real estate and estate planning to provide value-added service and support to our clients.

Related Client Features

Indevus (Podcast)

Different Tastes

Radius

Indevus

Simpler Networks

MaestroMD

HWS Group

The Corporate Group at Burns & Levinson

Name Title Phone Email
Frank A. Segall, Co-Chairman Partner 617.345.3684 fsegall@burnslev.com
Josef B. Volman, Co-Chairman Partner 617.345.3895 jvolman@burnslev.com
David M. Amidon Partner 617.345.3578 damidon@burnslev.com
Caitlin E. Barrett Associate 617.345.3698 cbarrett@burnslev.com
Raymond E. Baxter Partner 617.345.3818 rbaxter@burnslev.com
James H. Belanger Of Counsel 617.345.3875 jbelanger@burnslev.com
Gil Breiman Partner 617.345.3627 gbreiman@burnslev.com
Stephen D. Brook Partner 617.345.3722 sbrook@burnslev.com
Cornelius (Con) J. Chapman Partner 617.345.3838 cchapman@burnslev.com
Stephen Y. Chow Partner 617.345.3263 schow@burnslev.com
Richard M. Coen Partner 401.831.3010 rcoen@burnslev.com
Jerry Cohen Partner 617.345.3276 jcohen@burnslev.com
Fraser Collin Partner 617.345.3791 fcollin@burnslev.com
John F. Drew Partner 617.345.3292 jdrew@burnslev.com
Christine N. Fletcher Partner 617.345.3607 cfletcher@burnslev.com
Robert D. Giacchetti Associate 617.345.3645 rgiacchetti@burnslev.com
Roy W. Gillig Partner 617.345.3206 rgillig@burnslev.com
Leonard M. Gold Partner 617.345.3831 lgold@burnslev.com
Jennifer B. Green Associate 617.345.3324 jgreen@burnslev.com
Evelyn A. Haralampu Partner 617.345.3351 eharalampu@burnslev.com
Alison R. Harrall Associate 617.345.3816 aharrall@burnslev.com
Andy Henderson, Jr. Associate 617.345.3858 ahenderson@burnslev.com
Renee Inomata Partner 617.345.3340 rinomata@burnslev.com
Richard A. Kanoff Partner 617.345.3210 rkanoff@burnslev.com
Jonathan P. Levi Partner 617.345.3550 jlevi@burnslev.com
Mark W. Manning Partner 617.345.3468 mmanning@burnslev.com
Howard D. Medwed Partner 617.345.3352 hmedwed@burnslev.com
Andrew J. Merken Partner 617.345.3740 amerken@burnslev.com
Scott H. Moskol Partner 617.345.3522 smoskol@burnslev.com
Leslie B. Muldowney Partner 617.345.3247 lmuldowney@burnslev.com
Christina M. Murray Partner 617.345.3440 cmurray@burnslev.com
Philip S. Olsen Partner 617.345.3213 polsen@burnslev.com
Francis E. Perkins, Jr. Partner 617.345.3000 fperkins@burnslev.com
Chad J. Porter Partner 617.345.3686 cporter@burnslev.com
Robert C. Rives Partner 617.345.3344 rrives@burnslev.com
Michael V. Samarel Associate 617.345.3424 msamarel@burnslev.com
Samuel M. Shafner Partner 617.345.3222 sshafner@burnslev.com
Normand F. Smith Partner 617.345.3234 nsmith@burnslev.com
William V. Sopp Partner 617.345.3829 wsopp@burnslev.com
Norman C. Spector Partner 617.345.3677 nspector@burnslev.com
Tal M. Unrad Associate 617.345.3857 tunrad@burnslev.com
Frank Yu Associate 617.345.3289 fyu@burnslev.com